It has been some years now since we have been offering our living room space for anyone to walk into Community Yoga practice. We held this one day every week, recently we stepped it up by doubling it -- twice a week, every week. Every week beautiful stories & connections (to soil & souls) emerge. We have been sharing these with our friends and family over casual conversations. A lot of them encouraged us to share this with the wider community online. Each of these experience humbled me, helped me grow, so offering these in the hope that these will help bring smile & inspiration to someone like you somewhere on the face of this beloved planet (Mother Earth).
  1. An energy healer recently heard about this Community Yoga practice at Casa De Paz, was kind enough to join the practice & in one of the sessions, towards the end during our reflection circle said "the practice that gave me an experience in both Physicality & Spirituality". Moved by the practice this healer declares "my intention is to offer my time to this community whoever is in need of some healing through what I know best -- massage therapy". How beautiful it is to witness such organic outpouring of support from someone who just walks into the practice, experiences it and pays-forward unconditionally to someone who's in most need.
  2. A Yoga teacher who is a regular, rain or shine shows up on time, one day recently shared that - "I am so touched by this generosity, I don't think I told you this before, I started inviting all my neighbors to my large backyard deck for our neighborhood group yoga & wellness practice, I didn't ever think before that I could use this space this way to open to the community to come together in the spirit of improving health for each other - thank you." How could I respond to such a creative gesture where this person looks around her own backyard and says I have an abundant resource (my deck space)? I said -- "thank you, thank you for keep coming, really."
  3. Another person silently assigned a task for oneself -- to find joy in offering some simple, healthy, fresh breakfast to everyone, this manifested into a group breakfast, where there's enough food for everyone every-week although we have no idea how many would actually show up.  One day this person says  - "I am sorry, I couldn't prepare something today, but I got this freshly made dosa (indian pancake) batter just in case if there's a way we can make them here." My wife & I said why not, we said we absolutely can & we all ended up having a flash dosa mob :-), how cool is that to start the day in this spontaneous way!. Another day, I particularly remember one time where some additional people showed up for the first time, we thought we might run a bit low on food, as it would puzzle us all, one person says - "I love to share with my presence with you today & offer this flower & I am on fast today." There seems to be some magical way how this all seems to work out just the right way.It's Yummy! to the tummies every-week :-).
  4. An artist surprised all of us one early morning. She walked in with some large stuff in her hand, we couldn't see it well as it was still bit dark. At the end she shows this beautiful hand drawn art and shares the story -- how deeply she was moved when she saw a little girl  one time while waiting in a community health clinic,  she seemed to be longing for some motherly love that she seemed to have lost in her life due to some unfortunate reason & she dedicated this piece of art to the little girl & named it after her -- Isabella. We were in tears as we heard this moving story and to witness this transformational shift in this artist.
  5. Another time, someone gifted a hand-drawn picture of another participants dog who had passed away recently. These two people didn't know each other, had just heard about the passing of this dog in previous week class reflection. It's so deeply touching to see this space connecting these two people in such a deep way.
  6. Another elderly man rehabbing from multiple surgeries, becomes part of this practice in the community and recently said " Now I have moved from  the space of constantly complaining about the chronic pain into a space of starting to enjoy life & have quality time with family". His next door neighbor summed it beautifully at a chance meeting this past week, she said -- "My elderly neighbor smiles a lot these days, he's a happy man & his wife is happy and together they are sharing all kinds of plans they are thinking of doing now, they are full of young & vibrant energy all over again".  So many more stories, what a joy to witness all these...Thank you all for co-creating these experiences -- none of us could have scripted any of these exactly how they are unfolding all alone. Thank you universe.

Varsha
4/17/2012 03:17:26 am

Beautiful! With deep appreciation for your offerings.

Reply
LiveWell
4/18/2012 08:06:23 am

Thank you Varsha -- wish you best with your adventures in life :-)

Reply
varsha
4/18/2012 10:01:48 am

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.