Picture
Kale is another vegetable that not only has nutritional values but it's very tasty as well.. I made some indian kale pakodas last week, it was the first time i tried it and it turned out good and we both enjoyed it on a cloudy day with some nice peppermint tea!! try it out and enjoy:-) Once in a while fried pakodas really tastes good :-)
 
Recipe:
1 cup kale finely chopped
1 cup of besan
1/2 tsp chili pdr
salt to taste
oil for frying

Mix the besan, kale, chili pdr with water into a thick paste, you can either drop these with hand or use a spoon to drop them into oil, fry them until light brown and there you have it... enjoy it as it is or with green cilantro chutney.

Curious
3/23/2012 04:17:23 am

Came across yr blog..why would you offer a fried item like kale pakoda when you are talking abt all things healthy ??
Kale is filled with nutrition agreed ..but the oil makes it horrible and unhealthy..

Reply
live well
3/24/2012 07:38:10 am

Oily food is unhealthy if eaten every single day for 365 days without a break, but if eaten in moderate quantity with mind in control in a little quantity it is absolutely fine, i would say even oil in food in a moderate quantity is a must specially if you have more air (vata) in your body. Oil and ghee is totally not a bad one!! It's just the main media spreading the wrong message, Ayurveda clearly says that oil and ghee in specific season is a good one for a healthy person to maintain that health. Season such as Hemant (winter) and Shishir(late winter) is a good one to indulge in heavy food, if you want to eat some oily food and ghee this is the season, This is again for a healthy individual.

Reply
live well
3/24/2012 07:49:05 am

I also feel that our health is not just the healthy food that we eat but also the stuff we eliminate every single day! If we are not assimilating the food that we put into our body and not eliminating every day that we should definitely stay away from the food that we are not able to digest. it is then I would question myself whether I am doing the right thing to my body. If I am able to digest and eliminate then fried food once in a while is also good, if I cannot eliminate then I would re-evaluate everything I feed my body day after day.

6/21/2012 04:57:22 pm

Excellent! I admire all the helpful data you've shared in your articles. I'm looking forward for more helpful articles from you. :)

Joseph Aidan
www.arielmed.com

Reply
6/22/2012 02:27:36 pm

I stumbled on this from Google and wanted to say thanks for posting

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.