This morning as I was finishing up my early morning routine of exercise a thought flashed, it was a quick one, before it was gone too fast, I took a deeper look at it, an insight emerged. Realization showed that the thought was about the choices we make in our daily living. For instance the choices I was presented with in this experience I am sharing with you now.Several years back, we had moved into a new home, new neighborhood, new circumstances, new in every aspect, all were unknown. As part of the move, we had to forward all our postal mails to a hold service before we could start receiving them at the new address. The stuffs were piling up, it was time for us to fetch them from the central post office. A quick look at the map indicated that the post office is approximately about 1.5 - 2 miles from our new home. Driving by car for a quick ride to take care of this errand was the easy first choice that came to mind, followed by another thought doing a quick value check. Result of that value check opened the doors to another choice -- how about I take a walk -- although to most standards in this part of the world it could be considered a long walk to do this one simple task, given our commitments to values I chose this and opened myself to all opportunities of exploring the new neighborhoods, share some smiles with people on the walk and fit in my daily dose of fresh air and outdoor exercise. I pat myself on the back for doing a quick value check and feel good about this conscious choice I am making, although not knowing what's going to unfold as part of this experiment. I put on my walking shoe, put on a sun hat and start to walk.

Along the way, I got lost few times, that didn't bother me much as it opened doors to explore the neighborhood even more and connect with the place and people I encountered. Arriving at the post office, I was feeling so joyful with that walkers high, I am smiling and run straight to an empty counter thinking how nice that I can be out of here very quickly. I smile and ask the person on the other side of the desk "How are you? I would like to ask you a quick question - I am here to collect our mail holds - can you please help me?"  He showed me the long queue that circled the building and came back inside, so this left me with couple of choices either to go back home or stay put and wait for my turn to collect the mails.
I decided for the later one and stood there making good use of the time, watching and making eye contacts, passing on the smiles to many who I came in contact with.  Finally  after 30 min reached the window, still holding on to the smile and had a good conversation with the person on the other side, finally collected the mails and said our byes wishing each other well.

This incidence in my life made me stronger in my commitment to serve  "Mother Nature" every moment in simple and small ways for the rest of my life, no invention was needed for me except to invent a shift in self consciousness and to identify the small acts that will make the earth sustainable for many generations to come! 

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.